The Georgia State Board of Funeral Service administers the Funeral Service Law for the purpose of better protection of life and health, preventing the spread of contagious, communicable, and infectious diseases, and regulating the practice of embalming and funeral directing and the care and disposition of dead human bodies.
Click HERE to be redirected to the Georgia State Board of Funeral Service site.
To become an apprentice, you must be at least 18 years of age, and you must have a high school diploma or GED certificate. In order to begin an apprenticeship, you must submit a Funeral Apprenticeship Application to the Georgia Funeral Service Board.
You may serve as an apprentice while attending mortuary school; however, you may only count 20 hours of apprentice work per week while attending school. The 18 months of apprenticeship must be served in addition to the 18 months of school.
The Georgia State Board of Funeral Service regulates Apprenticeships. Click here to be redirected to the frequently asked questions regarding the licensing parameters and processes will be helpful for anyone pursuing a license as a funeral service apprentice in Georgia.
Every licensed embalmer and funeral director must obtain a minimum of 10 hours of continuing education credit during the two-year licensing period. A licensed embalmer or funeral director who became licensed within one year of the expiration date of the initial license is not required to obtain the continuing education hours for the initial license period [Board Rule 250-5-.12].
Exemption from the requirement of continuing education applies to a person with an Inactive license and to a person who has reached the age of 65. The Board may also waive the requirement for continuing education for reasons of hardship, disability, or illness. Please refer to Board Rule 250-5-.12 for more detailed information.
All embalmer and funeral director licenses are valid for two years, expiring on March 31 of even-numbered years (example: 3/31/06), and must be renewed prior to the expiration date. The initial license may be valid for less than two years, due to the relation between the issue date of the license and the expiration date.
Establishment licenses are valid for two years, expiring on June 30 of the odd-numbered year (example: 6/30/2007), and must be renewed prior to the expiration date. The initial license may be valid for less than the full two-year period, due to the time period between the issue date and the expiration date.
The Georgia State Board of Funeral Service reciprocates with other states that have licensure requirements that are substantially equal with Georgia’s. To determine if your original state of licensure has substantially equal requirements for licensure in Georgia, compare the state’s educational requirements, length of apprenticeship, and the number of bodies and funerals on which you are required to assist during the apprenticeship
Additional resources from the Georgia Board of Funeral Service may be found by clicking the links below: